Arson Attorney for Southwest Washington
Merely being charged with arson can have a long lasting effect on your life. A conviction in most cases can lead to substantial restitution, fines, and carries a high likelihood of being sentenced to prison. If you are facing arson charges, it’s important that you only discuss your case with a qualified attorney licensed in the state of Washington.
Arson in the First Degree
Arson can be proven when a person knowingly and maliciously: 1) causes a fire in a dwelling or residence, 2) starts a fire in a building that is occupied, 3) starts a fire and causes damage of a value in excess of $10,000 with the intent to collect the insurance processed, or 4) causes a fire that is manifestly dangerous to life. Arson in the First Degree is a Class A Felony, and has a maximum sentence of up to life in prison and a $50,000 fine. The standard range of punishment for a person convicted of First Degree Arson varies by the offender’s prior criminal history, but starts around 21 months. Fines and imprisonment increase if you are charged with and are convicted of other crimes, or if certain enhancements are proven at trial. Arson is generally investigated by highly trained police and fire officials who hold special training and experience with arson cases to ensure all forensic evidence is preserved. These investigations can take months or years to resolve, but often result in charges. evidence of another crime. In Washington State Arson is considered a highly serious matter. A conviction often results in a judgment of substantial restitution, fines, and incarceration in prison. Depending on the actors motivation, other charges such as domestic violence, attempted murder, or fraud can be charged by the state. If you are charged with arson its important to only discuss your case with a highly qualified attorney who can immediately advise you and represent you through the process.
Arson in the Second Degree
A charge of Second Degree Arson is brought when a prosecuting attorney alleges that a person knowingly and maliciously causes a fire or explosion which damages any building, wharf, machine, dock, engine, motor vehicle, boat, airplane, bridge, crop, timber, fence, or lumber. The maximum sentence is 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.
Arson Defense Attorney
If you are suspected of Arson your first call should be to the Law Office of Erin Bradley McAleer to schedule a free consultation. Speaking with investigators from the police department, fire department, or even your own insurance company can make the situation worse, and anything you say can and may be taken out of context and used against you in a future trial. When in doubt, always err on the side of caution and exercise your 5th amendment right to remain silent.
The Law Office of Erin Bradley McAleer will fight to ensure that you achieve the best possible outcome in your court case. Call attorney Erin Bradley McAleer today at (360) 334-6277 to schedule a free, confidential consultation.