First-Degree Robbery: How Many Years Can You Get?
First-Degree Robbery Consequences in Washington
If you were caught up in a robbery in Washington State, you might be curious about the consequences. First-Degree Robbery Consequences in Washington, in any degree, can affect your life forever. A first-degree robbery is the worst kind, and it can come with hefty jail time.
How many years can you get for a first-degree robbery? First, let’s discuss the criteria that must be met for your crime to be considered a robbery in the first degree.
What is considered a first-degree robbery in Washington State?
RCW 9A.56.200 states that one must have been found in a robbery or leaving one from which they participated to be charged with a first-degree robbery. They must also have been in possession of a “deadly weapon,” show their weapon, or physically harm someone during the robbery.
Robbing a bank can also lead to a first-degree charge. In Washington State, this type of robbery is a class A felony. That is the highest criminal charge you can receive, and prison time is inevitable in most cases.
If you are charged with a first-degree robbery, a criminal defense lawyer should be your next phone call. Here at the Law Office of Erin Bradley McAleer, we maintain complete confidentiality, so you can trust that your words are safe with us. We will also defend you against the prosecution, looking for any mistakes in the case against you to try to get your charges dropped or lowered to a class B felony if possible.
First-Degree Robbery: How many years can you get in jail time?
The average first-degree robbery sentence in Washington State is 31 to 41 months in prison for those who have had no previous criminal infractions. However, depending on the scope of the robbery and any injuries incurred, you may face life in prison and need to pay up to $50,000.
What can increase your prison time? The weapon is one element. The prosecution will examine your weapon in detail. By the legal definition, a “deadly weapon” means that it can “cause substantial bodily harm” at any moment. Even if you hurt someone with your weapon by accident, it may still be a first-degree robbery sentence in most cases.
In Washington State, saying you have a weapon during the robbery is not enough to receive the first-degree robbery charge. You must exhibit the weapon during the robbery, or it must look to be present somehow.
For a first-degree robbery, how many years you can get depends on a number of factors. The defense team (AKA your lawyer) will look for any discrepancies in your case to see if it can be reduced to a class B felony instead of a class A felony, which can be anywhere from 31 months to a lifetime in prison.
An armed robbery sentence may impact your life in many ways. Getting the right counsel is important to create a legal strategy that can, hopefully, improve your sentence.
When you need a criminal defense attorney, the Law Office of Erin Bradley McAleer is here. Call us now to arrange an appointment. First consultations are free.